Log in




Each year the CAGP seeks nominations for the Annual Award for Outstanding Contributions in Geriatric Psychiatry. This award recognizes a geriatric psychiatrist who has made a significant contribution to geriatric psychiatry in Canada through education, research or innovations in service delivery.

The award (which includes a complimentary conference registration and gala dinner ticket) will be presented at the 2019 CAGP-CCSMH Annual Scientific Meeting to be held in Banff, Alberta, October 25 – 26, 2019. The award will also be acknowledged at the Annual Conference of the Canadian Psychiatric Association on September 12-14, 2019 in Quebec City.

The nominee must meet some or all of the qualities outlined below.


The nominee:

  • has demonstrated leadership, both within his/her own organization and elsewhere in the field of geriatric mental health. Leadership may include local, national and international influence. It may have occurred in the CanMED areas of Medical Expert, Manager and/or Health Advocate. Leadership within Canada will be given the greatest weight.
  • has a proven ability in innovative problem-solving and decision-making.
  • exhibits high ethical standards and integrity in all aspects of their work.
  • demonstrates a commitment to patient/older adult advocacy in the public policy field.


The nominee has demonstrated significant accomplishment in:

  • educational and scholastic activities designed to add to the body of knowledge in the field of geriatric mental health care.
  • support to professional organizations dedicated to improving the lives of older adults affected with mental health problems and illnesses.
  • being a role model and motivates/mentors others in the pursuit of excellence with research, education or clinical care in the area of geriatric psychiatry.
  • capacity for care and compassion to clients, colleagues and students alike.


  • Dr. Carole Cohen (2018)
  • Dr. Bruce G. Pollock (2017)
  • Dr. Keri-Leigh Cassidy (2016)
  • Dr. Paule Hottin (2015)
  • Dr. Mark Rapoport (2014) 
  • Dr. Catherine Shea (2013)
  • Dr. Melissa Andrew (2013) 
  • Dr. Kiran Rabheru (2012)
  • Dr. Martin G. Cole (2011) 
  • Dr. Nathan Herrmann - Toronto, ON (2010)
  • Dr. Martha Donnelly - Vancouver, BC (2009) 
  • Dr. Kenneth Shulman - Toronto, ON (2008)
  • Dr. Lilian Thorpe - Saskatoon, SK (2007) 
  • Dr. Joel Sadavoy - Toronto, Ontario (2006)
  • Dr. David Conn - Toronto, Ontario (2005) 
  • Dr. Ken LeClair - Kingston, Ontario (2004)
  • Dr. Marie-France Tourigny-Rivard - Ottawa, Ontario (2003)

Contact Us
20 Crown Steel Drive, Unit 6, Markham, ON  L3R 9X9
TEL: (289) 846-5383 |1-855-415-3917  
FAX: (905) 415-0071 |

Connect with Us!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software